The act of withdrawing from an organization, union, or especially a political entity. After the presidential election of 1860, the South Carolina legislature passed an Ordinance of Secession on December 20, 1860, repealing the state's ratification of the Federal Constitution. Ten other states eventually followed suite and formed the Confederate States of America.

Return to Terms for the Letter S »

Help support the ongoing development of Ohio Civil War Central by clicking the banner and then purchasing products from

Ohio Civil War Central: An Encyclopedia of the American Civil War