General Orders, No. 11, (Department of the South) (May 9, 1862)

Updated: September 09, 2018

On May 9, 1862, Major General David Hunter, commanding the Department of the South, issued General Orders, No. 11, freeing all slaves in Georgia, Florida, and South Carolina. President Abraham Lincoln rescinded this order on May 19, 1862.

General Orders, No. 11

Headquarters, Department of the South,
Hilton Head, S.C., May 9, 1862

The three States of Georgia, Florida, and South Carolina, comprising the Military Department of the South, having deliberately declared themselves no longer under the protection of the United States of America, and having taken up arms against the said United States, it becomes a military necessity to declare them under martial law. This was accordingly done on the 25th day of April, 1862. Slavery and martial law in a free country are altogether incompatible. The persons in these three States---Georgia, South Carolina, and Florida---heretofore held as slaves, are therefore declared forever free.

David Hunter
Major-General Commanding

Ed. W. Smith, Assistant Adjutant-General

Cite this Entry

MLA Style

"General Orders, No. 11, (Department of the South)," Ohio Civil War Central, 2022, Ohio Civil War Central. 28 May 2022 <>

APA Style

"General Orders, No. 11, (Department of the South)." (2022) In Ohio Civil War Central, Retrieved May 28, 2022, from Ohio Civil War Central:

Comments powered by Disqus

Related Entries



Time Periods


Help support the ongoing development of Ohio Civil War Central by clicking the banner and then purchasing products from

Ohio Civil War Central: An Encyclopedia of the American Civil War