General Orders, No. 9 (U.S. War Department) (January 9, 1863)

Updated: November 18, 2014

On January 9, 1863, the U.S. War Department issued General Orders, No. 9, dividing the Army of the Cumberland into three army corps.

General Orders, No. 9

War Dep't, Adjutant General's Office
Washington, January 9, 1863

By direction of the President, the Army of the Cumberland, under the command of Major General Rosecrans, is divided into three Army Corps, to be known as the Fourteenth, Twentieth, and Twenty-first.

Major General G.H. Thomas is assigned to the command of the Fourteenth Corps;

Major General A. McD. McCook, to command the Twentieth; and

Major General T.L. Crittenden, to the command of the Twenty-first Corps.

By Order of the Secretary of War:

E.D. TOWNSEND, Assistant Adjutant General.

Cite this Entry

MLA Style

"General Orders, No. 9 (U.S. War Department)," Ohio Civil War Central, 2022, Ohio Civil War Central. 27 Sep 2022 <>

APA Style

"General Orders, No. 9 (U.S. War Department)." (2022) In Ohio Civil War Central, Retrieved September 27, 2022, from Ohio Civil War Central:

Comments powered by Disqus

Related Entries



This entry has not been associated with any topics.

Time Periods


Help support the ongoing development of Ohio Civil War Central by clicking the banner and then purchasing products from

Ohio Civil War Central: An Encyclopedia of the American Civil War