General Orders, No. 210 (U.S. War Department) (December 18, 1862)

Updated: May 17, 2014

On December 18, 1862, the U.S. War Department issued General Orders No. 210, creating four Army Corps from troops operating in Missouri or near the Mississippi River.

General Orders No. 210.

War Dep't, Adjutant General's Office

Washington, December 18, 1862

By direction of the President, the troops in the Department of the Tennessee, and those in the department of the Missouri, operating on the Mississippi river. Will be divided into four Army Corps, to be numbered the Thirteenth, Fifteenth, Sixteenth, and Seventeenth.

Major General J.A. McClernand is assigned to command the Thirteenth Army Corps;

Major General W.T. Sherman to the command of the Fifteenth Army Corps;

Major General S.S. Hurlbut to the command of the Sixteenth Army Corps;

Major General J.B. McPherson to the command the Seventeenth Army Corps.

By Order of the Secretary of War:

E.D. TOWNSEND, Assistant Adjutant General

Cite this Entry

MLA Style

"General Orders, No. 210 (U.S. War Department)," Ohio Civil War Central, 2022, Ohio Civil War Central. 4 Oct 2022 <>

APA Style

"General Orders, No. 210 (U.S. War Department)." (2022) In Ohio Civil War Central, Retrieved October 4, 2022, from Ohio Civil War Central:

Comments powered by Disqus

Related Entries



This entry has not been associated with any topics.

Time Periods


Help support the ongoing development of Ohio Civil War Central by clicking the banner and then purchasing products from

Ohio Civil War Central: An Encyclopedia of the American Civil War